During a press conference with CECC (Central Epidemic Command Center) on Wednesday, March 18th, Taiwan foreign minister Joseph Wu announced that all foreign nationals will be banned from entering Taiwan for the foreseeable future. This does not apply to those who are residents of the country (ARC and APRC holders), diplomatic officials, and business people with special entry documents.

Chen Shih-chung, head of the CECC, also announced that all travelers arriving in Taiwan will be subject to a 14-day quarantine regardless of whether they are a Taiwanese citizen or not, or where they are entering from.

Previously the Vice Labor Minister Lin San-quei said migrant workers who have traveled outside of Taiwan will also see a temporary ban from returning until the Wuhan Coronavirus pandemic subsides. This ban will commence on Thursday, the 19th of March. Migrant workers in Taiwan who wish to travel abroad will no longer be issued a re-entry permit by the National Immigration Agency Ministry of Labor.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: